Skip to content

My new Coolidor project

April 10, 2009

I have recently decided I needed a cigar storage solution, as I am beggining to accumulate a collection that is too big for zip lock bags and tupperware containers. I looked around on the Web, and found a plethora of options. The one that looked most reliable and cost effective was the coolidor.

I frequent the cigar review site Stogie Review, and used Walt’s coolidor guide found here: http://www.stogiereview.com/2006/09/26/how-to-build-a-coolidor/. I went to Wal-Mart and picked up a 48qt cooler for a mere $18.88. I also got some wet floral foam, a small tupperware container, and some distilled water while I was there. I swung by my local cigar shop Puff N’ Stuff on the way home and picked up ten assorted boxes at $1 a piece.

I took two of the box tops and made a set of dividers for the coolidor so I could stand the boxes on end, which makes for easier box removal and also takes up more space, keeping the humidity level more regular. I also broke down two of the boxes to line the cooler’s bottom and sides with.  I then proceeded to wipe down the cooler to remove the plastic smell (which it really didn’t have much of), and then wiped down all the unfinished portions of the cigars boxes with distilled water.

I cut holes in the top of the small tupperware, and then cut to the floral foam to fit inside of it. I then filled the foam with water, added a cheap digital hygrometer I already had lying around, and let it sit overnight. Unfortunately, the RH was only up to 58% by the next morning, so I added a small bowl of warm distilled water. I checked back in two hours, and  the RH had shot up to 95%. I left to lid open for a few minutes, which lowered the RH back down to 80%, and sealed it up.

That’s where I am now. I will update the article when I recieve my humidity beads, and will hopefully have it at a stable 70% soon. In the mean time, here are some pictures of how it looks now.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike - KnightRid permalink
    April 10, 2009 7:31 pm

    Curious as to why you put the empty boxes in there? Are you going to put the cigars in the boxes to store them?

    Mike

    • jbrookeiv permalink*
      April 10, 2009 7:37 pm

      Once the humidity has stabilized, I will transfer my cigars into the boxes. I haven’t ever bought a full box of cigars, only bundles, five-packs, samplers, and singles, so I needed the boxes to keep them off the plastic surface of the cooler. Also, the more wood in the humidor, the more consistent the humidity will be. The boxes can absorb and release humidity as needed. They also cut down on the condensation inside the coolidor.

  2. Sunny permalink
    April 14, 2009 5:08 am

    Plus it gives off a nice cedar smell 🙂

Leave a Reply

