Skip to content

La Herencia Cubana Salomon Review

April 25, 2009

Cigar Stats:
Size: 7.1″ x 58 ring, Salomon
Wrapper: Ecuadorian Sumatra
Filler: Nicaraguan
Smoking Time: 2 hours
Beverage: Coke Zero
Price: $4.99 from CI, I got them for about $2 off of CigarBid.com

The Pre-Smoke

First off, I’d like to say that this was my first Salomon, so I was a little confused about how to light it. I watched a couple of other reviews about Salomons, and figured out you just light the “nipple” and puff away. Anyways, the pre-light inspection showed that the cigar was well-constructed, with no soft spots. The aroma was a definite “barnyard” aroma, typical of a lot of the cigars I smoke. I cut the cigar and was surprised to find out that it drew fine, even with the “nipple” still intact. I proceeded to light the foot, and was off.

The Burn

The burn was a little annoying on this cigar. I probably had to touch it up 3 – 4 times during my two hours of smoking, which caused the smoke to become bitter at a few points. It seemed that every time the ash fell off, the burn would become uneven. I might have been able to let it correct itself, but I am a little bit OCD about the burn line, and couldn’t help touching it up. Also, during the first few minutes of the smoke, when the burn was going from the “nipple” to the actual body of the cigar, it was a little off. I have a feeling that most Salomons have this problem, but I thought I’d mention it.

The Flavor

The initial flavor was a little peppery, and very woody. The pepper died about 10 minutes in, and the same woody flavor continued throughout the smoke. There was a little sweetness that introduced itself at the 20 minute mark, but quickly faded back to the woody flavor. Honestly, the exact same woodiness continued throughout the entire two hours, and got a little boring. I enjoyed the sweetness while it lasted, and wish it would have stayed or came back later in the smoke. The woody flavor wasn’t at all bad, but it just got boring. I am a novice smoker, and there wasn’t even enough complexity to keep me interested. This is a perfect cigar for a cookout/herf, since you don’t have to focus on the flavors and won’t miss anything if you stop paying attention to it for a while.

The Price

The price cannot be beat. I got a 10pk of these for $19 off of CigarBid.com, and they are definitely worth the price. I smoked the cigar for about 2 hours, and had just reached the band. The only reason I stopped is because it was hot outside, and I had some things I needed to get done. I probably could have gotten another 20-30 minutes out of the cigar. For a less than $2 smoke, that is a pretty damn good deal in my opinion.

The Verdict

I definitely enjoyed the cigar, but it just wasn’t complex enough to smoke alone. For less than $2 a stick, they are definitely worth picking up. This is the perfect cigar for times when you have a lot of time to smoke, but don’t want to smoke something expensive/complex.

Liked It: Yes
Buy It Again: Maybe, when I run out.
Recommend It: Yes, it’s a cheap, long-lasting smoke with a nice flavor profile.

One Comment leave one →
  1. BradinBuffalo permalink
    April 26, 2009 3:25 am

    Great review, Salomons are a commitment…

Leave a Reply

