Skip to content

Joya de Nicaragua Antano 1970 Consul Cigar Review

May 1, 2009

Cigar Stats:
Size: 4.5″ x 52 ring, Consul
Wrapper: Nicaraguan
Filler: Nicaraguan
Smoking Time: 1hr30
Beverage: Diet Cherry Dr. Pepper
Price: $51.95 for a box of 20 from www.atlanticcigar.com

The Pre-Smoke

This is one stout little cigar. When I handle a lot of the cigars I smoke, I feel like I have to treat them like a piece of fine china or else the wrapper will tear. Not with this guy. I honestly think I could drop one of these and it would come out unscathed. Anyways, I cut the cap with no problems. The pre-light draw consisted of  a sweet flavor with a little spice. I had no problems getting the cigar lit, but the draw was a little tough in the beginning.

The Burn

The burn was dead on with this cigar until it reached the band. It began to tunnel a little bit and went out, but when I relit it, it stayed on track throughout the rest of the smoke. The ash held on well, about an inch each time. It probably would have stayed on longer, but I ashed it at an inch just so I wouldn’t end up with a pile of ash on my cargos.

The Flavor

The flavor was pretty consistent throughout the entire smoke. It started off with a hint of spice, but quickly developed into a sweet, woody flavor which I absolutely loved. This flavor continued until, at the band, a hint of spice kicked it. It wasn’t overpowering, just a little tingling sensation on the back of my throat. The spice came and went, and the sweet flavor continued until the end of the cigar.

The Price

At $2-3 a piece(box price), this Nicaraguan puro is a deal. I was happily surprised with how long this cigar lasted, being so small. I think this cigar normally retails for around $4, which is definitely still a great price.

The Verdict

I thoroughly enjoyed this cigar. At a little over $2 when you buy a box, this is an amazing value. The flavor profile was perfect for me. The sweet overtones with a hint of spice were not what I was expecting, but I’m definitely glad that’s what I got. This cigar reminded me a lot of the Tatuaje Havana VI I had last weekend, which I enjoyed also. If you haven’t had this cigar, go try one. Hell, if you have $50 to spend, go buy a box from Atlantic Cigar. You will not regret it if you enjoy a sweet cigar with a little kick of spice. If you don’t like ’em, you can just send them my way.

Liked It: Yes
Buy It Again: Definitely.
Recommend It: Yes, this is a high quality stick for a great price.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2009 5:32 am

    Nice Review! This is a cigar for me that I really want to like. It’s nicaraguan, its priced right, and everyone I know likes these. I just can’t get into them though. I have had several of these and I have no idea what it is but everyone I’ve had just didn’t do it for me. I have to left to try that I’ve been sitting on for about 6 monthsor so. I’m glad you like them though because they are a great value.

  2. Chris (aka BeaverC32) permalink
    May 2, 2009 11:43 am

    Great review. I’ve never had one of these, but I have tried the Celebracion. I am tempted to buy a box of them for such a good deal, but might stop at the B&M to try one to see if this is something I would enjoy.

  3. thomas permalink
    May 4, 2009 1:48 am

    Hey dude, I thought I would leave some “comment love” on your blog. You are doing some great reviews! Keep it up! The cigar industry’s media is too small as it is, the more reviewing machines the better! I will be picking up a box of these once I am back in the states in June!
    Cheers
    Thomas

  4. Patrck permalink
    May 4, 2009 5:51 pm

    I knew you would like these. If you liked this one you really need to try the Gran Consul. The flavors are much bigger in that vitola.

  5. BradinBuffalo permalink
    May 10, 2009 4:44 am

    at price per power these cigars can’t be beat, a great review on a great cigar…..

  6. Tuelle permalink
    May 27, 2009 12:42 pm

    I love these Antaño 1970s and the (I think) now discontinued Series C variant with the Connecticut wrapper. I always have a box of these around. I just got a box of the Lancero size of these and it really is a different experience than the huge Gran Consuls. But both, so delicious…

  7. July 29, 2009 4:29 pm

    i havent yet smoked any of those Joyas but i may do soon

Leave a Reply

