Skip to content

Giveaway at 1000 posts!

May 21, 2009

Hey guys,

I am quickly approaching 1000 views, and I just wanted to take a second and thank everyone for taking time out of their schedules to view the site. The response has been tremendous, and I am very excited to see what the future holds for The Weekly Cigar. I have gotten some samples from a few different (and very generous) companies, and decided to do a little giveaway sampler pack. The giveaway will include >5 cigars (not sure exactly how many yet), all from companies who have sent me stuff to review. All you need to do to enter is to comment on this post (make sure to provide a valid email address when asked) about what you want to see from the site. If you want more video reviews, tell me! If you have been wanting to hear a review of a cigar that you’ve been thinking of trying, let me know! I am open to any and all suggestions. Also, if you have a Twitter account, follow me @jbrookeiv and send me a DM with the name you posted here and I will enter your name in the drawing twice. I will announce the winner on Sunday, May 31st.

Thanks!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Ryan Pultz permalink
    May 21, 2009 1:26 am

    Nice play! Great way to pay it forward. Rp

  2. Chris (aka BeaverC32) permalink
    May 21, 2009 6:22 am

    Good to see you sharing the wealth! I would love to see more video reviews, they add a level of personality to a review that just written reviews can’t. But overall you are doing a good job, I find myself returning to theweeklycigar.com regularly.

  3. Mike - KnightRid permalink
    May 21, 2009 8:10 am

    Definitely more video reviews! I liek to see the facial expressions, etc when watching a video compared to the text versions. You can write anything you want, but when on camera the little nuances are there for everyone to see πŸ˜‰

    I would still like to see CHEAP cigar reviews – say under $3 a stick! In this economy everyone (well most everyone) could benefit from finding a nice low cost cigar to enjoy.

    Thanx for the site and giveaway!
    Mike

  4. Mike - bigslim on the forums and bigslim3k on twitter permalink
    May 22, 2009 11:37 am

    Great job on the site. Videos are great, I catch up on my podcast on my way to and from work so audio is more import that video to me. Your writen reviews are great not ot long and wordy and long enought to get out the important stuff. Keep it up the good work.

    bigslim

  5. BradinBuffalo permalink
    May 22, 2009 7:11 pm

    Great job on the site….

  6. doc8466 permalink
    May 22, 2009 11:20 pm

    I’m always looking for more cigar info! Keep it coming bro!

  7. May 23, 2009 12:19 am

    I agree with the video reviews, but I would prefer podcasts. I would also like to see more of a slant towards those who don’t smoke cigars, but are shopping for others for gifts. I have a lot of men in my life, and I don’t know much about cigars. It would be nice to have a quick take home message for the idiots in the group πŸ™‚

  8. May 23, 2009 12:38 am

    WTG! 1000 views is nothing to sneeze at. I agree with Chris-BeaverC32, video reviews create a different connection than a written review. I’m thinking about doing one myself over at thecigarbox.org, but we’ll see. Keep up the great work.

  9. BradinBuffalo permalink
    May 23, 2009 12:48 am

    how bout more video reviews?

  10. Dave Baugh permalink
    May 23, 2009 10:56 am

    Congrats on the 1000 views, Wow. Would love to see you on pod casts. I use my Ipod outside while smoking a cigar. I’ll smoke one to your continued success.

  11. Jon permalink
    May 23, 2009 11:11 am

    Yayyy…a giveaway. Love the site. Keep up the good work.

  12. MattR permalink
    May 23, 2009 1:08 pm

    I think I’m just going with the flow here, but more video would be great. So far, really like the reviews. Keep up the good work!

  13. Gene Paradiso permalink
    May 23, 2009 2:42 pm

    It’s such a pleasure viewing your videos. That’s the one thing I like about my “hobby”. There is no end to the knowledge to be gleaned from sites like yours. If this sounds like an ass kissing, it is. I love free cigars.

  14. Ray D. (debo0775) permalink
    May 23, 2009 10:24 pm

    …I wonder if Jerry’s going to get in on this giveaway…lol

    Nice little blog you’ve got going here, man.

    If you do start to do more video reviews, would you do video reviews of White Owls, Swishers, and Black and Milds if I sent them to you?…lol

  15. May 24, 2009 12:12 am

    I am replying to this post, as per your instructions, but I may or may not actually qualify for your giveaway. You see, I haven’t read this site up to this point, but I haven’t known that it existed. I found out about you because of your post in the StogieReview forum, which I frequent (username “maekern”) so I can’t rightly say what I would like to see _more_ of, since I am a new reader.

    However, glancing over what you have on the blog, I’d like to see more in general. So even if you don’t consider this a valid application for the giveaway, I’ll still be following your site from here on out. You have caught my interest, and your blog is now in my list of of RSS feed subscriptions.

    Cheers, and good luck with the blog!

    • jbrookeiv permalink*
      May 24, 2009 12:14 am

      You’re definitely entered. Thanks for checking out the site!

  16. Rocky permalink
    May 24, 2009 1:01 am

    Great looking blog, added to my RSS feed! I love giveaways!!

  17. bigcat permalink
    May 25, 2009 9:51 am

    Nice reviews, enjoyable reading keep up the good work, and thanks for the opportunity in the give away πŸ™‚

  18. Billy permalink
    May 25, 2009 4:22 pm

    Great site. Jerry sent me over.

  19. izzy permalink
    May 25, 2009 4:59 pm

    nice blog! I will definitely keep on checking it out

  20. ahaught permalink
    May 28, 2009 3:42 pm

    Video reviews are the way to go even if it’s just short and to the point, I will listen every time. Even an audio review with pics is better than a written review. I also agree with KnightRid, I would like to see more bundle or <$5 cigars reviewed, that is what I usually smoke and I dont see many reviews on them. I know Tat's are good, I am looking for a review that could go either way.

  21. Jose Flores Jr permalink
    May 29, 2009 9:59 pm

    Great site, you can’t go wrong doing more video reviews they’re great. You’re a generous man for doing a contest like this.

Leave a Reply

