Skip to content

Guest Review of the Camacho Triple Maduro

June 16, 2009

This week’s guest review was written by Ryan Pultz or @petthefish on Twitter.

Camcho 1

untitled

Pre-light: The smell from the foot of the cigar was a dark chocolate, earthy sweetness. The wrapper looked very smooth with a few smaller veins. The cigar comes with two great looking bands, one on the foot and one in the traditional spot. The cigar was firm to the touch with no soft spots. Pre-light draw gave a nice, easy draw with some sweet and spicy flavors coming though.

untitled

First Half: After toasting this stick with my torch, I was greeted with a lot of creamy smoke. The flavors consisted of a nice chocolaty, woody smoke with some spicy undertones that were barely detectable. During the first half, the burn line was fairly good. Although it was not perfect, it always corrected itself before getting out of hand. The ash held strong all the way to the halfway point of the cigar. The flavors stayed consistent for the first half of the cigar.

untitled

Camcho 2

untitledSecond half: The second half of this smoke was still great. The burn was consistent with the first half, and the cigar was still giving off lots of thick creamy smoke. The flavors on this half changed to more of a woodsy taste with some coffee and bitter chocolate in the background. The spice was all but gone, but at the same time the smoke was definitely bolder and the flavors were more pronounced in the second half. After I got to the band point, the cigar changed for the worse and got a little bitter, losing all the flavors I had been enjoying to this point. I smoked the cigar a little longer but ended up having to put it to rest sooner than I had hoped.

untitledCamcho 3

untitled

Conclusion: Overall, this was still a good smoke even though the cigar turned bitter towards the end of the smoke. I smoked the cigar for well over an hour, but was a little disappointed I had to put her to rest early. As for the price, these cigars are a little high for me, so I don’t know if I will be adding any more to my collection. Overall, I think the cigar will require a revisit sometime in the near future. Thanks for reading!

untitled

Also, make sure to check out some other opinions of the Camacho Triple Maduro from:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike - KnightRid permalink
    June 17, 2009 9:13 am

    nice review! I have a couple in my humi now, even though I usually dont care for the stronger stuff! I also had 1 that got real bitter towards the end, but for me I believe it got hot and that is what turned the flavors around 😦

    You should give another one a try 😉 Even for a wussy like myself, these have VERY nice flavors to enjoy!!

    Mike

    Are a bit expensive though!

  2. Thomas permalink
    June 20, 2009 12:36 pm

    One of my favorites, though either I’m immune to the bitterness, or I’ve never had one go bitter on me. These are right-down-to-the-nub smokes for me.

  3. Ryan Pultz permalink
    June 20, 2009 6:27 pm

    Thanks All it was a great smoke next weeks review will be a little less exspencive smoke rp

Trackbacks

  1. Camacho Triple Maduro review @ Cigar Inspector

Leave a Reply

