Skip to content

Review of Mystery Cigar #1

June 22, 2009

Cigar Stats:

Name: Mystery Cigar #1
Smoking Time: 1hr15
Beverage: Diet Coke

This review is the first in a series of five mystery cigar reviews. A friend of mine asked if I’d like to be part of a mystery review series he was conducting. This would entail him sending me five free cigars to review and write articles on. As you see now, I couldn’t pass up the chance to smoke free cigars, so I agreed to participate. The cigars vary in size, length, and tobacco content, so the reviews should be unique. At the end of the five reviews, I will reveal the make and size of each cigar that was reviewed.

The Pre-Smoke

The cigar has a medium brown wrapper, similar to the color of caramel. The wrapper was cracked in a few places (partially my fault), but was certainly smokeable. The wrapper and foot had your typical “barnyard” aroma, and the pre-light draw had a nice spice to it. Upon inspection, the cigar was fairly springy (I store my cigars at 65% humidity), but the foot was a little under filled in my opinion. I was ready to get started smoking, and was excited to see what this mystery stick had in store for me.

The Burn

I cut the cigar with my Cuban Crafters cutter, and lit it with my trusty torch. I ended up smoking this cigar at a local shop, Puff N’ Stuff. There wasn’t anyone else in the lounge, so I don’t think anything affected my ability to properly judge the flavors. The burn on this cigar was terrible to start, but I attribute that mainly to the split in the wrapper. Once the burn got past this wrapper flaw, the burn evened out and required very few touch-ups. The ash was a dark gray/black throughout the cracked portion of the cigar, but became a nice white color once it got past the crack. The ash was fairly compact, and held on for about an inch each time before I tapped it off. The draw was good, with a slight resistance.

The Flavor

The flavors on this cigar were fairly consistent throughout the smoke. The cigar started off spicy and woody with a touch of sweetness. The sweetness lingered on the palette, and honestly I wasn’t a fan of it. This sweetness stayed consistent throughout the first half of the smoke, but turned a little sour after the halfway point. There was a good amount of spice on the retrohale, which I didn’t expect judging by the flavor of the cigar. I ended up disliking the cigar and put it out about where the band would have been. The smoke was a nice white color, and the room aroma was a pleasant sweet spiciness, similar to the taste of the cigar. The cigar produced a good volume of smoke, but wanted to go out if I didn’t puff on it consistently. I would say the body was mild to medium, but it was hard to judge as I hadn’t eaten a lot prior to smoking the cigar.

The Verdict

I did not like this cigar very much. I tend to like a spicy sweetness in my cigars, but something was off about this particular smoke. The sweetness was “artificial” as the shop owner I was smoking with put it, and was very off-putting. The cigar was mediocre at best, and I certainly wouldn’t seek it out again.

Liked It: No, I would rate it a 6 on a scale of 1-10.
Buy It Again: No.
Recommend It: Only if this was a budget smoke, and only for beginners at that.

untitled

1

2 Comments leave one →
  1. doc8466 permalink
    June 23, 2009 10:54 pm

    One down and 4 to go! 🙂 Glad you’re having fun with it. Just in case any other readers want to see how the other 5 blind reviewers rated it (and the next 4) tell them where to find them. 😀

    Stand by for more fun.

    • June 24, 2009 3:37 pm

      I will be posting links and doing the reveal after I post all the reviews. I want to build it up, make it a little more fun!

Leave a Reply

