Skip to content

Review of Mystery Cigar #2

June 24, 2009

Cigar Stats:

Name: Mystery Cigar #2
Smoking Time: 45min
Beverage: Diet Coke

This review is the second in a series of five mystery cigar reviews. A friend of mine asked if I’d like to be part of a mystery review series he was conducting. This would entail him sending me five free cigars to review and write articles on. As you see now, I couldn’t pass up the chance to smoke free cigars, so I agreed to participate. The cigars vary in size, length, and tobacco content, so the reviews should be unique. At the end of the five reviews, I will reveal the make and size of each cigar that was reviewed.

The Pre-Smoke

The cigar has a very dark brown wrapper, similar to the color of dark chocolate. The wrapper has numerous veins running up and down it, and the wrapper is also cracked in a few places. The cigar is well-packed, but the wrapper seems delicate to the touch. The foot and wrapper both smelled of a pretty typical barnyard, which is common among most cigars I smoke. I didn’t get much from the pre-light draw, maybe a hint of tobacco. Honestly, I was worried about whether or not I would be able to finish this cigar, based on the condition of the wrapper.

The Burn

I cut the cigar with my Cuban Crafters cutter, and lit it with my butane torch. As I did on the last review, I smoked this cigar at a local shop, Puff N’ Stuff. Just like the last time I smoked there, there wasn’t anyone else in the lounge, so I don’t think anything affected my ability to properly judge the flavors. The burn on this cigar was okay in the beginning, but as soon as the cigar started to heat up, the wrapper basically exploded. This made the cigar extremely difficult to smoke, to say the least. The draw was open, but the cigar didn’t produce much smoke after the wrapper split. I probably got about one-third into the cigar and had to put it down. I just couldn’t keep sitting it in the ashtray and picking it back up to take a puff without the wrapper completely falling apart. The ash that I did manage to get was solid and white, and I believe the cigar would have been good if not for the wrapper issues.

The Flavor

As I said before, I was not able to get through the entire cigar, but I was able to pick up some very distinct flavors from the portion I smoked. Upon lighting, the cigar was pretty complex. I got a lot of coffee flavors, specifically roasted coffee beans. I also picked up a general sweetness accompanied with a touch of cinnamon. The flavors were very enjoyable, and pretty typical of a maduro wrapper, which I believe this cigar had. The room aroma was also enjoyable, and I was definitely able to pick up a lot of the flavors I mentioned.

The Verdict

I obviously was not able to fully judge this cigar, but I think it would have been a winner had it not been for the wrapper issues. The flavors I got during the first third of the smoke were very enjoyable, and included a lot of flavors I look for in a cigar. As many of you know, I am a big fan of maduros, and it was unfortunate that I couldn’t full experience this cigar. I don’t know what to attribute the wrapper issues to, but I believe shipping during the summer months isn’t beneficial for cigars. When cigars heat up, they swell, and I know that we have had a couple days here in Georgia that have approached 100 degrees. I can’t imagine how hot the back of the USPS truck that they cigars came on got, but I definitely think that had something to do with it.

Liked It: Yes. I would rate the flavors I experienced during the first third very high, probably an 8.5 or 9 out of 10.
Buy It Again: Yes.
Recommend It: Yes.

2

One Comment leave one →
  1. JasonT permalink
    June 25, 2009 2:50 pm

    Too bad. I don’t think I’ve ever had a maduro explode like that. Cameroon and Connecticut, yes, but never maduro. I hope you have better luck on the rest.

Leave a Reply

