Skip to content

Review of Mystery Cigar #4

July 1, 2009

Cigar Stats:

Name: Mystery Cigar #4
Smoking Time: 1hr30
Beverage: Diet Coke

This review is the fourth in a series of five mystery cigar reviews. A friend of mine asked if I’d like to be part of a mystery review series he was conducting. This would entail him sending me five free cigars to review and write articles on. As you see now, I couldn’t pass up the chance to smoke free cigars, so I agreed to participate. The cigars vary in size, length, and tobacco content, so the reviews should be unique. At the end of the five reviews, I will reveal the make and size of each cigar that was reviewed.

The Pre-Smoke

The cigar is a fairly large toro-shaped Maduro with a dark brown, mottled wrapper. The wrapper has some fairly large veins running up and down it, but I don’t think they will cause any problems. The scent off of the foot and wrapper are barnyard, and the pre-light draw produces a sweet tobacco flavor. The cigar seems to be well-packed, and I can’t really find any soft spots. This cigar looks like it’s going to be right up my alley, and I’m ready to get it lit up.

The Burn

I cut the cigar with my Cuban Crafters cutter, and lit it with my butane torch. As I did on the last review, I smoked this cigar at a local shop, Puff N’ Stuff. Just like the last time I smoked there, there wasn’t anyone else in the lounge, so I don’t think anything affected my ability to properly judge the flavors. The burn on this cigar was great, and I didn’t have to touch it up at all. I love it when that happens, and it just makes the smoking experience that much more enjoyable. The cigar had a nice tight white ash, which held on for at least an inch and a half before falling off. The cigar produced a good bit of resting smoke, a little more than I’m used to seeing. The smoke smelled nice, with just a hint of sweetness.

The Flavor

The flavors on this cigar were right in line with what I look for in a smoke. The cigar started off with a nice roasted coffee flavor, backed up with a hint of sweet tobacco and cocoa. I’m pretty sure this cigar is a maduro, and as many of you know, I’m a big fan of maduros. Towards the halfway point, I started to pick up a cinnamon flavor. I know I mention this flavor in a lot of cigars I smoke, so let me explain what I mean. When a cigar has a sweet flavor and also a bit of spice (not pepper, but spice), the combination reminds me of cinnamon. Now, this is probably not the flavor of pure cinnamon, but more the lingering aftertaste of Hot Tamales. It’s sweeter than pure cinnamon, almost like cinnamon sugar. Anyways, these flavors stayed pretty consistent throughout the smoke, and I enjoyed them. I picked up some spice off of the retrohale, and I think that helped create the cinnamon characteristics I was picking up.

The Verdict

I thoroughly enjoyed this cigar. This cigar really embodied what I look for in a smoke. It was smooth, consistent, and well-constructed, definitely a smoke I wouldn’t mind as a daily cigar. The only thing I would have changed about this cigar was the fact that it got a little bitter right where the band would have been, but that is really a pet peeve of mine and pretty common.

Liked It: Yes. I would rate it a 8.5 out of 10.
Buy It Again: Yes.
Recommend It: Yes.

Doc's blind cigar taste test(2)

One Comment leave one →
  1. JasonT permalink
    July 3, 2009 2:42 pm

    Nice job. I’m writing down what I think these are based on your reviews. I can’t wait to see if I have some of the guessed right.

Leave a comment