Skip to content

iPhone Cigar Apps

July 10, 2009
tags: , ,

DISCLAIMER: I mention an app called Installous during this video that allows you to download almost any app from the App Store for free. This is stealing, and I do not condone this. I only use this program as a try-before-you-buy system, and it allows me to get a feel for an application before I buy it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Steven89 permalink
    July 10, 2009 6:05 am

    Sweet. We’ll have to talk about apps once I get my iPod Touch. I think MobileStogie is the best, but will probably DL iCigarDiary too.

  2. July 10, 2009 5:40 pm

    What a shame to hear you do a review of iPhone apps, only to have you finish up with essentially “I stole these apps”. Doesn’t say much about the integrity of this site in my opinion. I happen to be the author of Mobile Stogie, and have spent literally hundreds of hours developing it. At $3.99 I would have thought it was fair to expect somebody hosting a website about stogies to actually pay the $3.99. Hell, for that matter, I likely would have given you a free copy for doing the review. I am continuing to work on new features, and another version will be coming out shortly. I hope you continue to like the app, but I also hope you don’t continue to steal from me.

    By the way, I was referred to your site by a number of people on a popular cigar forum, who also think it’s a bad business practice for you. For me it’s only $3.99, so no big deal, but really … what a shame.

    Thanks.

    • July 10, 2009 6:40 pm

      Ken,
      Thanks for the comment. I’m using Installous as a try before you buy type of thing and have every intention of buying the apps that I see myself using regularly. I’m really enjoying your app and will certainly buy it as soon as I fully evaluate it. If you would like, to make up for my mention of stealing the app, shoot me an email with some banner code in it and I will gladly post an ad on my site. Again, I apologize for talking about stealing apps, and I can assure you that I certainly wouldn’t have talked about it if I thought it would portray me negatively.

  3. Tom permalink
    July 11, 2009 9:06 am

    Enjoyed this review until I heard you say you didn’t pay for these apps. Piracy is always seen as a victimless crime, when in fact it isn’t. I don’t think anyone actually believes your “try before you buy” excuse, we weren’t born yesterday. And I find it humorous how you apologize about “talking about stealing apps”, but you don’t apologize about actually stealing them.

    • July 11, 2009 9:18 am

      Believe what you want Tom. I do plan on buying the apps I enjoy. Also, if you took the time to read the disclaimer I added, you would see I say “This is stealing, and I do not condone this”, which in my eyes is a retraction of my comments in the video.

Leave a Reply

