Skip to content

Episode #2, Samuel Smith Oatmeal Stout

August 6, 2009

Bookmark & Share

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2009 10:13 am

    Thank you Mr. Brooke for the video. I do not know if are aware of this but one of the great marketing changes for Samuel Smith’s was putting their beers in brown glass bottles. Before that their ales were in clear glass bottles, which became a hit or miss as to whether the brew would be light damaged or not. This is especially true of their WINTER WELCOME (which this year will be 2009-10) a holiday classic, which I hope you have sampled.
    The Beer Doctor

  2. Bradley permalink
    August 6, 2009 7:32 pm

    I am a big stout fan. Nothing could compliment a Stout better than a cigar. I typically use a mild or mild-medium bodied cigar in a 3.00-6.00 price range. A good stout will overpower a good cigar and having something full flavored is a bit more intense. A 5 Vegas Gold, Verdadero Organic or even something slightly more medium bodied like a Gurkha Sherpa seem to fit with a good stout.

    I get Samuel Smiths Oatmeal stout a couple of times a month, it seems pretty easy to find around here. I like the consistency of the brewery. I do agree that the taste/aroma is not near Oatmeal but it is faint. The fruit beers from the brewery are a bit off in my opinion. I don’t think a good beer should be ruined with strawberry….cherries….so I do not recommend those flavors.

    As for a good oatmeal stout, try Souther Tiers Imperial Oatmeal Stout. If you are looking for a real stout that will top the charts in your books, try Avery’s Mephistopheles….that is a great stout with an ABV of 16%! I’d love to hear a review if you can find it. Avery is a pretty big brewery, I’m sure you can find it. The price is steep but the quality, presentation, and taste makes it well worth trying it once.

    I can’t wait to check out the next beer review!

    • August 7, 2009 1:30 am

      If I can find the Mephistopheles, I will definitely review it. That sounds right up my alley. I had a great stout the other day called Old Rasputin. Check it out if you can find it.

  3. OlivaSerieV permalink
    August 11, 2009 5:36 am

    Nice review… You guys need to be smoking cigars to fully appreciate your Stout there.

    I recommend Left Hand Milk Stout with an Arturo Fuente Añejo Shark #77.

  4. Mast3r_Shake permalink
    August 12, 2009 2:07 pm

    I was introduced to that beer from Phish shows. People drank that and Magic Hat. Pretty good beer.

Leave a Reply

