Skip to content

Review of the Cubao No. 4

September 7, 2009
tags: , , , , , ,

DSC02548

untitled

Cigar Stats:

Name: Cubao No. 4

Size: 4 7/8” x 50

untitled

First and foremost, I would like to thank Abe from Smoke Inn for sending me this cigar to review. If this cigar sounds good to you, please don’t hesitate in buying it from Abe. His customer service is first class, and he’s an all around great guy. If you live in South Florida, you need to make a point to swing by one of his multiple retail locations. His prices are outstanding and his selection is great.

untitled

The Pre-Smoke

This is a great looking robusto-sized cigar. The wrapper is a dark brown color with some mild mottling. The cigar is well-constructed and is firmly packed. On the pre-light draw, I get flavors of sweet tobacco and a hint of pepper. This Cubao looks great, and I can’t wait to get it lit up.

untitled

The Burn

I cut the cigar with my Cuban Crafters cutter and lit it with my Jet Line torch. The cigar burned perfectly, and I never had to touch it up. The ash was tight, white, and held on for about an inch and a half each time.

untitled

The Flavor

This was an extremely flavorful cigar, and was very enjoyable. Right off the bat, I got a strong blast of pepper with a woodsy backbone. This flavor lasted throughout the course of the cigar. The peppery characteristic was a little bit overpowering, but as long as you keep something to drink on hand, it shouldn’t cause a problem. One thing I noticed was a salty taste on my lips after I puffed on the cigar. I haven’t picked this up on many cigars in the past, but it provided an extra bit of flavor that I enjoyed, especially when having something sweet to drink with the cigar.

untitled

The Verdict

This was a great cigar that I think many people would enjoy. I wish it had more of a sweet flavor characteristic to it, but I still enjoyed the cigar even though it lacked that sweetness. EO has just come out with a Cubao Maduro, which is comprised of the same blend as the regular Cubao line but with a maduro wrapper. I have smoked the Cubao Maduro, and enjoyed it more than the normal Cubao line. I have found that I like the flavor profile of the 601 Red more than the cigars from the Cubao line, but that is just personal preference. The Cubao was a great cigar, and I recommend that everyone give it a try along with the rest of EO’s cigars.

untitled

Liked It: Yes.
Buy It Again: Yes.
Recommend It: Yes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2009 2:56 pm

    Just for the record, this cigar is a great smoke than I keep getting off the open box I have at the shop and getting Miguel complains all the time (about me smoking the profits…lol) anyway, when i don’t have anything to try and crazy about getting my eyes off the computer, I grabb a Cubao (In my case #7) and sit outside the shop and go off….I am going to do that now…. for christ shakes ana is a hollyday son, enjoy it (that was me talking to myself….lol) nice to find people that smoke what I like!

Trackbacks

  1. Review of the Cubao No. 4 « The Weekly Cigar | Cigar up date today

Leave a Reply

