Skip to content

Cigar review of the Rocky Patel Olde World Reserve

September 12, 2009

Today, we have another guest review, this time from our friend Pat Fumador.

RP prelight

I picked up this cigar while visiting Castle Cigars in Tampa. It’s one of the best places for me because;

  1. I’m relatively new to the Tampa Bay area and it’s easy to find
  2. Great selection with reasonable prices
  3. Smoking accommodations are first class, with full bar on its way, and a cigar lounge that is roomy and accommodating to a crowd

This is what Rocky Patel web site says about this cigar;

OLD WORLD RESERVE

When you open a chest of Olde World Reserves, the rich aroma of lush tobaccos hits your nose. Available in either a nutty Corojo or a cocoa-rich Maduro wrapper, the OWR is a full-bodied smoking experience that combines the smooth complexity of the Vintage series with the earthy strength of The Edge. The OWR was recognized by Robb Report as Best of the Best for 2007.

Wrapper: Maduro

Binder: Nicaragua

Filler: Nicaragua

Sizes: Robusto, 5.5″ x 54

That having been said, here is what I discovered about the cigar. Visualy speaking, it was a beautiful cigar. I am partial to maduro wrappers, so this was right up my ally. Dark, almost Rosado color wrapper, rich, minimal veining, and wrapped without flaw. Prelight aroma was warm and clean. I was expecting more ammonia, typical of a cigar I had not packed away for a year in the Igloodor, but was pleased that the aroma was clean and rich, almost sweet with vegetation aromas. After clipping, the pre-light flavors were nice, but I cannot do any better than that. Nothing distinctive, just nice.

The first inch gave me what I generally expect to find in a Nicaraguan cigar: strong, peppery, heavy leather, rich in depth. Finish at this point was not much. Mouth hadn’t settled into it yet, I suppose. First third evolved quickly into what one would expect from a puro. Full bodied, coffee/leather with a long finish. Pepper had disappeared quickly, leaving a spiciness that was distinctive but not dominating. Second third started picking up speed and really proved itself to be quite the standalone cigar. It would be my last cigar of the day. Fuller, stronger, completely taking over my palate in spite of the drink by my side. In spite of the generous smoke volume, I had to give up on the cigar about 75% through. Had to re-light it twice (NOT what I like to do) and gave up after third relight let me down.

Good cigar? Yep.

Invest in one again? Yep

Recommend it to friends? Only if they are mature seasoned cigar smokers.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rocky permalink
    September 13, 2009 12:06 am

    That’s not the maduro.

  2. September 13, 2009 9:41 pm

    Thanks for the review, I like your style…

Leave a Reply

