Skip to content

Guest cigar review of the Padron 80 Years Maduro

September 13, 2009

This week, we have another guest review from our friend Danny Principe. Hope you enjoy!

5573_628167475509_32815717_37251578

I dont really know what else to say about this cigar other than it is absolute perfection. This is quite possibly my desert island cigar. I have been very lucky in my life. I have been able to sample the finest Cubans, some of the most elusive NCs, but this takes the cake. Very few cigars are of this caliber, though some do come to mind.

The Verdict:
Appearance: 14/15
Beautiful wrapper. No visible veins whatsoever, the only flaw was a slight hole in the wrapper. But this did not effect the enjoyment of the cigar whatsoever. Really the only flaw.

Flavor: 25/25
Unreal. Coffee, cocoa, at times leather, nuts, toast, some sweet cedar. Very typical Padron flavors, but so remarkably smooth that it really is hard to pinpoint anything standing out above the rest. Everything was in perfect harmony. The cigar was in the full bodied category, but it was just so smooth I did not seem to notice.

Construction: 25/25
Flawless. The cigar cut like a hot knife through butter. It lit up instantly, I used one match and it honestly lit up in 1/4 of a second and did not require a single bit of attention for the entire 3 hours I took to smoke this beauty. The draw was perfect. Like a razor the entire time. And every 80 Years I have smoked has been EXACTLY the same in this regard.

Overall Impression: 35/35
The price point is high, but I have to say, it is damn near worth it.

Final Score: 99/100

I know it seems a bit high, but if you have smoked one, and you love Padrons as much as I do, I am sure you will agree. Cant wait to see how the 45ths I just picked up do in comparison.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Andy Brown permalink
    September 14, 2009 1:01 am

    Nice review of the 80 year maduro, you described the perfect cigar perfectly! Once you try the No. 45 Family Reserve you will have found perfection…again. Having both put in front of you and telling yourself to smoke just one is an extremely tough decision.
    (If you want, I can get the review I wrote for the No. 45 family reserve. it’s short and sweet. But something is better than nothing!)

    • September 14, 2009 1:03 am

      Sounds good. Shoot me an email with it. Look on my Contact page on here for the information.

  2. DannyP6228 permalink
    September 14, 2009 7:17 pm

    If the 45th is in the same league, I think I am going to save them for a very special occasion.

    Which would you say you prefer?

Trackbacks

  1. Guest cigar review of the Padron 80 Years Maduro « The Weekly Cigar | Cigar up date today

Leave a Reply

